• Hello everybody! We have tons of new awards for the new year that can be requested through our Awards System thanks to Antifa Lockhart! Some are limited-time awards so go claim them before they are gone forever...

CLICK HERE FOR AWARDS

We need more worlds like Monstro

REGISTER TO REMOVE ADS

Soldier

Awards
Alright, random topic that just popped in my head but hear me out.

In this age of Unreal engine 4 producing some of the best effects in the series to date, the worlds have grown in size and have adapted a more... realistic feel to it. So why not go the extra mile and have another world similar to Monstro in KH1,and have more adventures inside of giant creatures!

.... that came out wrong, but it comes from a curious interest I assure you. Few of you know that IRL I'm a biologist in training, so I often approach games with a bit of a "sciencey" look to it, RPGs especially. How some of the monster designs evoke real world creatures and how they adapt to environments, skeletal structures etc. Which is why Monstro as a world fascinates me. The idea of exploring the inside of a large creature as a location is nothing new, many games have done it (Lord Jabu Jabu anyone?). but to do it with an established Disney character who is known for swallowing man sized fish takes it to a new level. Going off the original film, we only see the inside of his mouth, and not much else. So that left a lot for the dev team to fill in, and you can really tell these guys never took a marine biology course. All of the chambers that look the same inside of monstro having cellular structures around them is a creative way to show how connected everything is. And lest we not forget that this space whale defies anatomy by having you go UP his throat to reach his stomach, how... interesting?