• Hello everybody! We have tons of new awards for the new year that can be requested through our Awards System thanks to Antifa Lockhart! Some are limited-time awards so go claim them before they are gone forever...

CLICK HERE FOR AWARDS

Guide to GIFs

REGISTER TO REMOVE ADS
Status
Not open for further replies.

blueheart

Bronze Member
I notice people seem to make a lot of GIFs around here, at least to me. Their also pretty clear cut, good quality.

They seem like such cool things to me. I've had a lot of ideas for awhile...

But.....I'm a noob, so I don't know where to start. I'm not sure what program to use, or even how to use the editing tools right on the few I have tried.

What program or software do use personally for your creative media? How long have you been making them for? Also, where do you find your media or clips for said GIFs? Because I'm sure Youtube doesn't have everything, or does it, you think?

Also, I'm curious. What was your first GIF? Feel free to post it.

Last edited:

CaptainMarvelQ8

Bronze Member
Awards
People don't create them here,they just post them from another site.
But in general,the process is not that hard once you have the right tools.i used to do them once using Photoshop and Virtual dub but that was a long time ago.Search for tutorials

Lancelot

It's the only NEET thing to do.
Awards
Any .gifs I work with, I use GIMP for. At least that allows for frame-by-frame editing where necessary. A lot of people just use gifsoup.com, I think it is, to crop one from a video clip. Most of them I find on 4chan or other boards like Zero-chan, or just by searching "[insert item] .gif"

blueheart

Bronze Member
Isn't GIMP just for single picture editing though? I mean one where I could incorporate videos and edit them. But not end up making another video, just use that edited clip as a GIF. Or is that not how it works?

Orion

Prepared To Die
Awards
Isn't GIMP just for single picture editing though?