• Hello everybody! We have tons of new awards for the new year that can be requested through our Awards System thanks to Antifa Lockhart! Some are limited-time awards so go claim them before they are gone forever...

CLICK HERE FOR AWARDS

A defense for Ishimoto

REGISTER TO REMOVE ADS

RonaldPoe

Awards
Hi, hope everyone's doing well. As you know I'm an amateur musician and huge KH fan. Today I want to discuss everyone's favorite scape goat of the music, Ishimoto. I know he's not as great as Yoko Shimomura but I don't think he deserves all the hate the fanbase gives him.

First, his work on Final Fantasy Type 0, The World Ends with You, and Dissidia is generally well recieved. In fact, I consider Feral Chaos' battle themes from Dissidia Duodecim to be in my top 5 FF Final boss themes. He also wrote Vanitas' battle themes (all of which are considered good) in Birth by Sleep.

Feral Chaos' themes.
"Enter the Darkness" is a classic. Yoko only helped with a few basic motifs and the rest was pure Ishimoto.
I know this is a controversial opinion but I consider "Replicas" to be an epic variation of "Destati" that's full of hype and fits the fight well. It's at least better than the two themes after it.

Secondly, He's written less tracks than Sekito Tsuyoshi or Yoko Shimomura in the Kingdom Hearts franchise yet gets most of the blame. It's not like the other 2 haven't had their weak tracks such as the themes for Monstro and KH1 Neverland. Yoko Shimomura actually has great respect for Ishimoto (I'll link the interview) so that's a plus.
Third he's got a distinct style. You can tell his specialty electronic music and that he learned orchestration later on. I've been trying to write midi-mockups myself and it's proven to be very difficult. It's a skill that needs to be mastered and isn't for most people.