• Hello everybody! We have tons of new awards for the new year that can be requested through our Awards System thanks to Antifa Lockhart! Some are limited-time awards so go claim them before they are gone forever...

CLICK HERE FOR AWARDS

They were self-taught again?

REGISTER TO REMOVE ADS
Status
Not open for further replies.

χBladeMaster

Destiny Islands, finally winning races against Rik
According to Yen Sid, Sora and Riku, prior to 3D, were "self-taught keyblade wielders." So, in order to train them properly, he had them forget everything they knew about the keyblade and relearn it all. But, how does that make them any different from being self-taught? No one trains either Sora or Riku during 3D. They literally just relearn everything they knew about the keyblade (and more) on their own yet again. Yen Sid didn't even know where they were 98% of the game, so he certainly wasn't teaching them anything.

He said that "a true master" will have to show you the way. This straight up did not happen in this game.

LeonesFangs

Website
leonesfangs.deviantart.com
I think it was because they were trained like the keyblade masters in BBS relying on command decks rather then straight up aggressive strategy. I would compare the scenario in DDD to the Hyperbolic time chamber in DBZ. A means of training in a limited amount of time while also providing help for other worlds lost from the heartless so in essence they were relying on a new method of fighting.

χBladeMaster

Destiny Islands, finally winning races against Rik
The command decks are just a gameplay feature. They don't mean anything in canon. Yes time flows differently in the sleeping worlds, and yes the hyperbolic time chamber is an apt comparison, as Yen Sid expected them to finish their journey in a few seconds in real time. However, the time spent in the sleeping worlds is not nearly as much time as Aqua and Terra spent training under Eraqus.